Catholic Liturgical Calendar 2015


Catholic Liturgical Calendar 2015


The Catholic Church follows a Liturgical Calendar which usually begins in late November/earlyJesus Christ the Good Shepherd | Rosary Mart December. The first four weeks are called "Advent" and are a special preparation for Catholics to be receptive to the coming of Jesus Christ, whose birthday is celebrated on December 25. "Christmas" is not one day, but lasts a few weeks. In the "Christmas" season, the Church celebrates Jesus' presentation at the Temple, His Baptism, and His ministry. There is a brief time that is considered "Ordinary", before  the Church prepares for His Passion, Death, Resurrection, and Ascension. Immediately following this is Pentecost, the "Coming of the Holy Spirit".  These events are remembered and celebrated during "Lent" and the "Easter" season.  After "Easter", the remainder of the year is "Ordinary" until "Advent" begins again.

The Church requires that all Catholics participate in specific celebrations.  In addition to Sunday, the days to be observed as holy days of obligation in the Latin Rite dioceses of the United States of America, in conformity with canon 1246, are as follows:

Holy Days of Obligation:

  • January 1: Mary, Mother of God
  • May 14: Ascension
  • August 15: Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
  • November 1: All Saints
  • December 8: Immaculate Conception
  • December 25: Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ


circular-liturgical-calendar | Rosary Mart A diagram of the Catholic liturgical cycle.

Liturgical Season

Advent: Nov. 30, 2014 - Dec. 24, 2014

Christmas: Dec. 25, 2014 - Jan. 11, 2015

Ordinary Time: Jan. 12, 2015 - Feb. 17, 2015

Lent: Feb. 18, 2015 - Apr. 4, 2015

Easter: Apr. 5, 2015 - May 24, 2015

Ordinary Time:  May 25, 2015 - Nov. 28, 2015


For Additional Feast Days see:  January     February    March    April    May    June  July  August   September    October    November   December

Leave a Reply